29th Annual Touch the Future Art Show

Touch the Future Art Show

29th Annual Art Show Dazzles Once Again

One Visitor was “Moved Beyond Words at this Amazing Event”

Several hundred students, teachers, family, and friends gathered at the Abington Art Center in Jenkintown on Sunday, April 3 for the presentation of awards and checks to the winners of the 29th annual “Touch the Future” art show. Student artists from 25 Bucks and Montgomery county public high schools submitted work to the professionally juried show which began as a tribute to Christa McAuliffe, NASA’s teacher in space who died aboard the Space Shuttle Challenger.


Selected were first, second, and third place Best of Show winners, along with 15 category winners. Additionally, PSEA purchased art from two students for permanent display in its office, and one student was selected to receive the Teacher’s Choice Award. Together, the students took home prize money totaling $2,400. Congratulations to Cassidy Quattro, of Hatboro-Horsham High School – overall Best of Show winner – who received this honor for the second year in a row.


Nearly 400 pieces of artwork were submitted and 195 pieces were juried by Nicole Hall, Director of Admissions for Temple University Tyler School of Art. The event was sponsored by the Mideastern Region of the Pennsylvania State Education Association (MER/PSEA) and the Council for the Advancement of Public Schools (CAPS). Chairpersons for the event were art teachers Lynne Pribis of Upper Dublin High School, Connie Berger of Cheltenham High School, Terry O’Neill of Neshaminy High School, and Carly Najera of Bensalem High School. Thanks to everybody who worked together to provide this wonderful opportunity to the students.